The Expert Group on Children at Risk consists of senior officials from the line Ministries dealing with children’s issues or designated agencies in the Member States of the Council of the Baltic Sea States (CBSS). The European Commission, as a member to the CBSS, may also appoint a member to the group.

The Expert Group members are appointed to carry out regional cooperation beneficial for children in all member states of the CBSS.


Latvia: Lauris Neikens, Ministry of Welfare 


Vice Chair

Denmark: Maria Pârja, National Board of Social Services


CAR Members

Estonia: Eve Liblik, Social Insurance Board

Finland: Marjo Malja, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health

Germany: Almut Hornschild & Anna Maria Lemcke, Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth

Iceland: Heiða Björg Pálmadóttir, Government Agency for Child Protection

Lithuania: Ruta Pabedinskiené, Ministry of Social Security and Labour

Norway: Eli Ferrari de Carli, Ministry of Children and Equality

Poland: Katarzyna Napiórkowska, Ministry of Family, Labour and Social Policy

Russia: Natalia Tregoubovitch, Office of the Children’s Rights Commissioner for the President of the Russian Federation

Sweden: Karin Blomgren, National Board of Health and Welfare

Head of Children at Risk Unit at the Council of the Baltic Sea States Secretariat: Turid Heiberg (